Talk about anything and everything related to Yousician Guitar here
By philip0908
Hey guys,

after an eternity, I now managed to leave the fingerpicking section behind me and move on to moving chords (while I passed level 7 on lead ages ago). But gosh.. I was so looking forward to it because the fingerpicking lessons had me to bring the A game. But now I'm disillusioned.. I find the moving chord section so hard. Anyone that feels the same?

Philip
By mshine69
I suggest to learn 'movable chords' as proper barre chords (using all 6/5 strings). Good guidance in here for example: https://www.justinguitar.com/en/IM-000- ... Method.php

It might be good idea to go back to the easy songs with few chord changes and relaxed rhythm and play open chords as barres to learn the ropes.

It won't be easy. I've been practicing them for about six months and still not very comfortable with them. But barre chords are the fundamentals of intermediate guitar playing and in the end worth all the pain and effort.

Btw, how's your guitar action & setup? If it's factory default (most likely too high), it really adds to the difficulty.
Thanks for the feedback, sorry to hear you're having trouble with the moveable chord shapes.

It's a bit unusual that the full barre shapes would be easier (since the moveable shapes are simply the barre shapes with the hardest notes left out), is it possible that there's some confusion about the shapes themselves or the technique involved? Maybe some incorrect fingering suggestions, or more detail needed in the tutorial video? Or do you find it easier to hold e.g. The root-6 major shape with a full 6-string barre rather than just the top 4 strings? Thanks again, any feedback is very much appreciated! :-)
By mshine69